top of page

Why should PMs give sales demos?

Here’s how I understood our product better (and you can too)


That helped develop better features for our product.


Here is the story.


Back in April, I had the idea of taking a few sales demos.


Armed with this idea, I pitched the idea to our Product lead, who happily agreed.


So the idea was to understand why customers buy/do not buy from us.


I was confident in my skill and ready for any product-related questions customers might ask.


So, I started working with the Sales team and SDRs to understand their current demo call process and the common questions customers ask.


I started working on my sale demo pitch inspired by @JordanBelfort / Wolf of wall street.


And a special mention to @JoshBarun and @ChrissVoss for helping me refine the pitch.


(I highly recommend Snakes Struggling With Sales ebook by @JoshBarun)


Long story short, I took four demo calls, of which two customers almost converted, but the deal fell through (due to various reasons).


Sales demos are a battlefield where you win & you lose some.


Respect for the sales team and their effort increased massively.


This experience helped me develop many new features and understand how customers perceive our product.


Like how @DeepinderGoyal delivers food orders to customers once every quarter to understand the customer expectations/experience.


Every PM (in B2B) should give Sales a try or try to be present in demo calls.


I will share stories from my journey and product features for other products weekly.


Comments


bottom of page